Why Grades Are Pointless

It’s currently 3:45 in the morning, I’m on page 4 of my 12 page paper that’s due in the morning, I have about 4 hours of chemistry homework left to do, and an exam tomorrow night. And I am sitting here writing this post. I’m surrounded by my roommates who are also drowning in their responsibilities. My roommate (Allie–more details on her loveliness to come in the future) shared a verse with us that was so relevant and beautiful and perfect.

The Message version of Ecclesiastes 3:9-15

9-13 But in the end, does it really make a difference what anyone does? I’ve had a good look at what God has given us to do—busywork, mostly. True, God made everything beautiful in itself and in its time—but he’s left us in the dark, so we can never know what God is up to, whether he’s coming or going. I’ve decided that there’s nothing better to do than go ahead and have a good time and get the most we can out of life. That’s it—eat, drink, and make the most of your job. It’s God’s gift.

14 I’ve also concluded that whatever God does, that’s the way it’s going to be, always. No addition, no subtraction. God’s done it and that’s it. That’s so we’ll quit asking questions and simply worship in holy fear.

15 

Whatever was, is.

Whatever will be, is.

That’s how it always is with God.

Ultimately, all the efforts we put into studying and our GPAs are for nothing. In the scheme of eternity, the only efforts we exert that aren’t wasted are those we invest in worship and in His kingdom.

Don’t get me wrong; this is not my declaration that we should all drop out of school, or stop trying. In fact, the title of this post was mostly for the “what?” factor than for revolutionary truths. We are called to do everything we do in a way that brings glory to God, and that means committing to all things with our fullest ability.

But we should never forget that in the middle of all the madness, Jesus stands in power and in love.  When all the responsibilities that the world provides start drowning us, and we can’t possibly see how we’re going to manage all that we have ahead of us, we need to remember that Jesus and all that we do for Him are the only things that will stay with us forever.

A popular phrase amongst my friends this semester has been “grades don’t matter in Heaven,” and though it may be simple, it’s something that often seems to be forgotten.  When we get to Heaven, God is not going to ask for a copy of our transcript.

(Praise Jesus for that because I can see my GPA dwindling before my eyes as I continue to delay my studies.)

Leave a Reply

