The #Instagram of a #ChristianGirl

Chances are, you’ve seen this video below circulating the internet.

 

For those who don’t know me or follow my Instagram, here are some recent posts:

Screen Shot 2014-12-02 at 12.51.07 AM Screen Shot 2014-12-02 at 12.51.23 AM  Screen Shot 2014-12-02 at 12.51.58 AMScreen Shot 2014-12-02 at 1.31.12 AMScreen Shot 2014-12-02 at 12.51.34 AM

So, yeah. Raise your hand if you’ve ever felt personally victimized by a YouTube video. #me. (Is it okay to quote Mean Girls in a post about Jesus? Because I am.)

tumblr_inline_nf3fgrVHmw1rszvu2

When I first saw the video, I laughed at its satirical nature.  I laughed because I knew it was made to be lighthearted.  But at the same time, it started pulling at my heart and making me sad.  I began wondering if people thought these things about me.

Honestly, my first thought was to delete social media. I didn’t want my mind to be filled with self-centeredness and overload of information, and I certainly didn’t want my walk with Christ to be viewed in the way the video portrayed.

In the midst of this internal debate, though, Jesus has reminded me that all things are to be used for His glory, and all things can be.

“All I have is yours and all you have is mine. And glory has come to be through them.” John 17:10

Instead of deleting all of my social media accounts, I have decided that I am going to use them to make Jesus and the Gospel known in every way that I can. Though there are surely dangers in the publicness of social media, there is beauty in the fact that, when used for evangelism, people I have never met can be reached and encouraged.

Starting now, my rule of thumb for posting is “does this point to Jesus or does this point to me?” I’m not going to let Satan win this battle.  He wants to make us doubt our walks, question our genuineness, and he wants to discourage us from sharing the Gospel. But Jesus wants us to make Him known through all means given to us.

Dressing up a picture of your Bible and choosing a sooo #hipster filter isn’t something to be ashamed of.  While the Word is beautiful on its own, seeking to honor it and display it to the world in the best way possible is perfectly acceptable. It all comes down to the heart: is your intention to appear holy to all your followers, or is it to encourage them and share the Word?

I Instagram, not to display my leather journal or latte, but to display the One who set my soul free and makes me fall more in love every day. 

I encourage all my fellow believers who raised their hand at feeling personally victimized to continue their posts, staying aware of the state of their heart when doing so.  Times will come when we mess up–when we post to bring ourselves glory, rather than Him.  But the Lord can still use those mess ups to make Himself known, and change our hearts in the process.

I would much rather continue strengthening my walk with Christ and continue sharing how I fall more and more in love than delete my accounts. I will continue sharing the moments that bring the most joy to my heart unashamedly.

XOXO,

~Xan

 

Leave a Reply

