The Strangle of Comparison

Comparison, judgement, and jealousy are my biggest struggles.

There. I said it.  It’s out there.

For the longest time, they were such an incorporated part of my daily life that I didn’t even realize their existence.  It wasn’t until I started asking the Lord to reveal to me the areas in which He needed to strengthen and shape me that I realized how consumed I was with these life- and faith-drainers.

I’ve come to realize that by constantly, often unconsciously,  comparing myself to others, I am creating a standard by which I judge myself.  While I’ve been pursuing a Heavenly standard, I’ve been living by an earthly standard that is determined by the people by whom I’m surrounded and even those I merely see on social media.  How crazy is it that I have such a tendency to create a standard for myself out of a square photo on my iPhone?

Comparison can only lead to one of two feelings: inferiority or pridefulness–both of which are toxic.  When we look at a person and think “Wow. I may have issues, but at least I’m not them.” or “I thought I didn’t look very good today but I could look like that,” (Admit it. You’ve done it.) we are infesting ourselves with pride that is toxic to ourselves, our relationships with people, and our relationship with the Lord who calls us to be humble.  On the other hand, when we look at someone and say: “One day when I have enough money, I’m going to buy things like they do.” or “I wish I could get as many guys/girls as they do,” feelings of inferiority take us over.  Neither places are places where our hearts glorify Jesus.

“Each one should test their own actions.  Then they can take pride in themselves alone, without comparing themselves to someone else, for each one should carry their own load.  Nevertheless, the one who receives instruction in the world should share all good things with their instructor.” Galatians 6:4-6

The Lord wants us to know how great and loved we are. That’s why he continuously reminds us through His Word:

In Psalm 139 He tells us that he hand-knitted us together in our mother’s womb.  We are fearfully and wonderfully made.

In Ephesians 2 He tells us that His love for us is so strong that it raised us from death into life.

In Matthew 6 He reminds us to not think to worry about anything because He cares for us so much to provide whatever we may possibly need.

There is nowhere we can look in His Word that will contradict the worth we have in the eyes of the Lord, yet we seek this contradiction in the broken world around us.  

There will constantly be voices speaking into our lives that will try to get us to question whether we are desirable to others or not.  We will be constantly tempted to question whether we are suitable or have what it takes, but we need to continuously ask ourselves where we are looking to evaluate our worth.

The Lord sees me and the Lord sees you as incredibly valuable.  If the world could exist as He designed it to without us, He wouldn’t have personally made us.  If that’s not powerful enough for us to realize how wonderfully valuable we are, I don’t know what is.

Our weaknesses and problems are the very things that give us potential for the Lord to pour out blessings over our lives. When we acknowledge our places of emptiness, we give the Lord room to work.

So remember your worth today.  Remember that you are so loved and valuable and are created for a beautiful purpose.

“A heart at peace gives life to the body, but envy rots the bones.” Proverbs 14:30

Let’s choose a heart at peace today.

2 thoughts on “The Strangle of Comparison

Leave a Reply

